X

My Cart

Due to high order volume, orders can take 5 to 7 business days to ship.

You have no items in your shopping cart.

How to buy and register a Suppressor / Silencer

Buying a suppressor is much easier than you may think. Just follow the steps below or give us a call and we will be happy to walk you through the entire process.

What paperwork will I need to legally register a suppressor?

There are two main methods for registering your suppressor:

  1. Registration using a “Trust”
  2. Registration in your name

Option 1 Registration using a “Trust”

  1. Set up your trust or make a copy of your existing trust
  2. Purchase your suppressor online at grabagun.com
  3. Obtain 2 Passport Photos, for every responsible person on the trust
  4. Fill out 2 copies of fingerprint cards (FBI form FD-258), for every responsible person on the trust
  5. Fill out Responsible Person Questionnaire (ATF Form 5320.23), for every responsible person on the trust
  6. Fill out your Form 4 and Mail in your $200 payment to ATF
  7. Mail in copy of your Form 4 and all Responsible Person Questionnaires (ATF Form 5320.23) to your local Chief Law Enforcement Officer (CLEO)
  8. Sit back and relax because you are done!

It will cost approximately $100 more to buy using the trust method, but it will provide a great deal more flexibility than an individually registered suppressor. There are many advantages to using a trust for registering a suppressor.  Some of these advantages include:

  1. more than one person (family or friends) can legally use the suppressor if they are listed on the trust
  2. one trust can be used for multiple suppressors

There are many places you can go online or locally to download a Trust to be used for registering your suppressor. Here are a few examples which range in price from $99 - $129:

Option 2 Registration to an individual

  1. Purchase your suppressor online at grabagun.com
  2. Obtain 2 Passport Photos
  3. Two copies of fingerprint cards (FBI form FD-258)
  4. Fill out your Form 4 and Mail in your $200 payment to ATF
  5. Mail in copy of your Form 4 to your local Chief Law Enforcement Officer (CLEO)

This is a less expensive method for registering your suppressor since you will not have to pay the $100 for a trust to be set up. However, you will be the sole owner of the suppressor and will have to be present any time the suppressor is being used (this includes your spouse and kids).

FAQ’s

Am I eligible to own a suppressor?

If you are 21 years old or older AND able to legally posses a firearm then you should be eligible to purchase a suppressor. This also assumes you have verified it is legal to own in your State and County.

Is it legal to own a suppressor in my State?

Suppressor ownership and hunting with a suppressor is legal in most States. Please reference the map, provided by the American Suppressor Association, below to see if suppressors are legal in your State. This map is for reference and you should be sure to check your State and County laws before making any suppressor purchase.

legal for citizen use

not legal

legal for hunting

shall sign/certify

* Minnesota hunting law to take effect August 1, 2015. * Maine Hunting and Shall Sign laws to take effect mid October.

How long is the wait?

Wait times will vary throughout the year but can be anywhere from 3-6 months. Once you submit your paperwork you will be able to contact the ATF to inquire about the status of your paperwork. Just keep in mind this is a government process that is out of all of our control and you will need to be patient. As they have told us in the past, “It will be ready when it is ready”.

  1. Use the GrabAGun.com FFL Locator for Class III dealers to find a dealer in your area.
  2. Make sure the dealer will take “Title II” or suppressor transfers and inquire about their transfer fee. (Fees average $75-$100)
  3. Purchase your suppressor on GrabAGun.com and choose that dealer from the drop down menu at checkout
  4. If the dealer you want is not currently in our database you can choose the option of “My dealer is not listed, and will provide a copy of their FFL License”. Please have your dealer email us a copy of their FFL and SOT to ffl@grabagun.com. We will update your order and let you know once we have the information.
  5. Once our transfer forms are in place with your dealer, usually 2 weeks, we will email you the Form 4 information you will need to complete. You can complete this information and submit it right away. Please check with your local transfer dealer for their policy and procedures.
  6. We will transfer the suppressor to your local dealer and they will contact you once your Form 4 has been approved.
  7. At any time in the process if you are not sure about a step, or are needing help please contact us at 972-552-7246

I live in Texas and would like to buy a Suppressor and pick it up from GrabAGun.com

  1. Purchase your suppressor on GrabAGun.com and choose the local pickup option at checkout
  2. We will email you the partially filled out Form 4 to complete
  3. Bring your completed Form 4, Trust (if not registering as individual) and $200 ATF payment in check or money order to GrabAGun for review.
  4. You will need include the following items with your completed Form 4 and $200 ATF payment:
    • Two Passport Photos (if you are using a trust, you will need this for every responsible person named on the trust)
    • Two FBI Fingerprint Cards (Form FD-258) (if you are using a trust, you will need this for every responsible person named on the trust)
    • ATF Form 5320.23 (Only if you are using a trust, you will need this for every responsible person named on the trust)
  5. Once your approved Form 4 Tax Stamp comes back we will contact you to come pick up your suppressor!